Click Here to Read Our Latest Updates Regarding COVID-19

Filter By Topic


Dramatic Media Students Receive Kennedy Center American College Theatre Festival Awards

December 2, 2016


Freshmen actors Daniel Saunders, Devin Taylor, and Victor Dominguez were all nominated for Irene Ryan Acting Scholarships in the prestigious Kennedy Center American College Theatre Festival Region 6 (KC/ACTF) for their work in this fall’s production of “Rhinoceros.”

The Irene Ryan Acting Scholarships provide recognition, honor, and financial assistance to outstanding student performers wishing to pursue further education. The Irene Ryan Foundation awards sixteen regional and two national scholarships annually. One nominee and partner from every region will be invited to the national festival and the nominee will receive a $500 scholarship.

Megan Taylor and Guillermo Herrera received Meritorious Achievement awards, with Taylor winning for excellence in make-up design and Herrera taking home honors for stage management. All students receiving awards will compete for scholarships at the regional KC/ACTF in San Angelo this spring.

“The Irene Ryan competition is one of the premiere opportunities for college-level performers to showcase their acting talents in a festival environment, with thousands of nominated actors competing from across the nation,” Dramatic Media Department Chair Dave Legore said. “Likewise, select students in design and technical theatre are also showcased at the American College Theatre Festival. In both contexts, students are provided with the opportunity to hone their craft while networking with peers and professionals from across the region and nation.”

More About the John. F. Kennedy Center For The Performing Arts

The Kennedy Center is the nation's busiest performing arts center, hosting approximately 3,000 events each year for audiences numbering more than 2 million. Since 1971, the organization has been bringing the world to Washington, D.C. with magnificent performances of music, dance, theatre, and more.

Daniel Saunders, actor

Devin Taylor, actor

Victor Dominguez, actor

Megan Taylor, make-up designer

Guillermo Herrera, stage manager